Menu plan: Jan 3-9, 2011


I was planning to post this and then saw that Megan beat me to it! But I’m posting mine anyway at the risk of looking like a copycat. Hee hee!

Sweet Potato and Black Bean Chili, image swiped from Eating Well

Monday: Garlic pesto chicken, steamed broccoli with lemon, potatoes.
Tuesday: Sweet Potato and Black Bean Chili with tortilla chips.
Wednesday: Poached Halibut with lemon and herbs (from Cooking Light January 2011), couscous, greens.
Thursday: Leftovers (I’m trying to be more assiduous with our leftover consumption; we throw out SO MUCH FOOD; this is where I could take a page from my mother-in-law, who serves leftover leftovers creatively and with good cheer).
Friday: Crepes! The current issue of Everyday Food has a recipe and I’m going to give them a whack. Maybe do a bar with fillings? Or maybe just ham and cheese or veggie or fancy turkey rollups! I’m open to suggestions for kid-friendly fillings, y’all!
Saturday: It’s going to be cold, so it’s turkey-spinach lasagna, salad, and crusty bread.
Sunday: Usually a free-for-all, so probably leftovers.

I haven’t made any allowances in this plan for impromptu dining-out plans, but good money says that when Matt hears what we’re having on Tuesday, we’ll be grabbing dinner at Five Guys or the like.

Leave a comment

7 Comments

  1. I want to know how the chili turns out. Have you made it before? The nephews are coming next week from Australia, and I want a couple of healthy one-pot meals I can make in big batches while they’re here.

    Reply
    • boxingoctopus

       /  January 3, 2011

      I haven’t made it yet, and I fear the repercussions of serving it to my picky family. But I’ve resolved to make healthier choices for all of us, not the least in part so that my MIL will stop making passive-aggressive comments about my and Matt’s weight!

      Reply
  2. Sally

     /  January 3, 2011

    I’m also curious about the chili, so I hope there’ll be a post. And we’re big eaters of leftovers around here. We either make dish A on Monday, with plans to use its leftovers for dish B on Wednesday, or we plan to make extra of dish A to be used for lunches for the rest of the week or portioned out and frozen to be later meals. I love having a freezer stocked with soups, stews, and casseroles that just need warming/baking and pairing with sides!

    Reply
  3. Sally

     /  January 3, 2011

    Oh, and I forgot to mention that I also don’t usually leave a lot of room for improvisation in our menu plans, but because so many of our meals are centered on something pre-made that we pull from the freezer, it’s not a big deal when we stray. When we stray on the nights when dinner is not coming out of the freezer, then a freezer item gets bumped somewhere else in the week so that we can eat the fresh food before it goes bad. Not a flawless system, by any means, and we still throw away more than I’d like, but I figure it’s all baby steps!

    Reply
  4. That chili looks awesome, so please let me know how it turns out. I have about a million sweet potatoes to use up.

    Reply
  1. Sweet Potato and Black Bean chili | My Rubberbandball
  2. Menu plan: Jan 10-16 | My Rubberbandball

Leave a comment