Sweet Potato and Black Bean chili


Okay, due to popular demand, I’m blogging about the Sweet Potato and Black Bean chili I mentioned on Sunday.

I’m not one to make resolutions (and I realize that we’re at the point in our cultural evolution that it’s totally cliche to say you don’t make resolutions), but I read this a couple of weeks ago and, after I stopped shuddering, I resolved to feed my family better food. I banned Goldfish from the house (although a box of Cheez-Its snuck in when my husband and son went to the grocery the other day; it’s at the very back-est of the pantry) and now offer fruit or Magic Pop for snacks when they kids say they’re hungry. My new mantra is, “If you’re not hungry for an apple, you’re not hungry.” The same applies to me. And my husband is slowly coming around. We had a very terrible car accident the week before Christmas and Matt was transported to the hospital (he’s fine; he has a broken rib and a banged up foot). He told me later that he felt keenly aware for the first time how heavy he’s gotten and he’s been researching his ideal weight and talking about cutting back on his extra beer calories. Who knows, I may get him to the Y here one of these days!

So, to that end, I’m incorporating at least one disgustingly healthy (but still delicious, I hope) meal into the weekly menu. This week, it was this chili (well, we’re having poached fish tonight, too, but I think the peoples will respond more positively to it).


(It was hard to get a good picture of this chili. Bad light + amateur photographer = crappy pictures)

I followed the recipe (linked above) to a T, omitting the chipotle and extending the cook time. (UPDATE: actually, as I look back at the recipe on the website, I see that I transposed the 2T chili powder and 4t cumin, which was why, to me, the dominant note of the stew was CHILI POWDER WOAH; Matt disagreed and said that the dominant flavor was sweet potato, but I think he was just being a brat.) This recipe could not be simpler. And, bonus, it’s totally delicious. I really, really liked it. Unfortunately, I’d had my cheat meal for the week at lunch (bacon pizza at the Alamo Drafthouse while watching The King’s Speech) and was still stuffed at dinner, so I just had a very small helping. But, as predicted, my family hated it. My husband said I’d cut the garlic too large (true, but I don’t mind large pieces of garlic, and hey, I’m the cook) and that this wasn’t chili, period (“Chili has meat in it, not sweet potatoes, and certainly not beans!”). My kids, well, they were happy with the tortilla chips, yogurt, and applesauce.

Leave a comment

2 Comments

  1. I can’t wait to see the video 🙂 Thanks for the recipe review!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

