Meal Plan: Week of 9/15/13


I find myself enjoying — finally — some “down time” in that I have met all my immediate deadlines for both the book and freelance work for the time being. (That doesn’t mean I don’t have deadlines, it just means that, as of right now, I have a whole week ahead of me with NO DEADLINES.)

This weekend has been dedicated to baking, shopping, reading, watching the BK play baseball (Saturday), and finally dusting off my sewing machine. Today will be all about sewing. I’ve got tons of fabric for skirts (me) and dresses (LK), as well as napkins and aprons (which I plan to pop into my Etsy shop very soon).

napkins2

I’ve also done a lot of research around lunchboxes and meal planning, trying to clean up the BK’s lunchbox (fewer chips and sweets, more fruit and veg!) and plan dinners that accommodate everyone’s extracurriculars (BK’s baseball, LK’s swim and dance, my Monday and Wednesday evening classes) as well as my newly reinstated Weight Watchers membership.

(Side note: I recently went in for my annual checkup with my GP and mentioned that I’m — still — not happy with my weight. She suggested I’d be a good candidate for Optifast, since I’m motivated and am good at maintaining my weight. I considered it for a little while, mentioned it to The Husband, who said, “Yeah, because living on a chemical slurry is SO MUCH HEALTHIER than eating real food.”)

So, I’ve been trolling Pinterest and Cooking Light magazine for recipes that meet all the criteria mentioned above, and I think I’ve struck a pretty fair balance with this week’s options. My biggest challenge so far is that sometimes we just end up making another plan for dinner (like when we ended up at the new Lucy’s Fried Chicken instead of having the homemade pizza I’d planned to make for dinner with the BK last Thursday). Most of the time, though, I can roll that over into the next day or week. Oh, and leftovers. We are and always have been MISERABLE at managing leftovers. I welcome any tips or suggestions y’all might have on how to reduce leftovers-related waste.

Sunday: Chicken tamale casserole, veg, fruit
Monday: Slow cooker bolognese, pasta, salad, fruit
Tuesday: Burrito bowls, fruit
Wednesday: Slow cooker balsamic chicken, veg, fruit
Thursday: Italian wonderpot, salad, fruit
Friday: TBD. (If we could have a standing Friday-night dinner at Torchy’s, I’d be a happy woman.)
Saturday: TBD. We’re going to see the new Forklift Danceworks show that evening, so it might just be sandwiches.

Leave a comment

5 Comments

  1. leftovers keep me sane during the week. biggest difference was made when we started packing leftovers directly into containers with lunch portions. one big container of chili goes totally uneaten, but veggie chili in pint-size jars gets picked up like hot cakes on the way out of the house.

    Reply
    • boxingoctopus

       /  September 16, 2013

      I definitely try to put leftovers into lunchboxes. That works when dinner has been something the BK likes, but that’s only about half the time. While my husband says he prefers to take sandwiches to work, he did take leftover chicken tamale casserole with him today. Baby steps.

      Reply
  2. Sally

     /  September 16, 2013

    I could be down for dinner at Torchy’s this Friday.

    Reply
    • boxingoctopus

       /  September 16, 2013

      Wicked, Sally! My only concern about Torchy’s on Friday night is its effects on a Saturday-morning weigh-in. Unless I/we weigh in on Friday morning instead….

      Reply
  1. Meal Plan: Week of 9/22/13 | My Rubberbandball

Leave a Reply

