Meal Plan: Week of 9/8/13


I didn’t get much sleep last night, and I blame Breaking Bad. I stay up late on Sunday nights so that I can watch the DVR’ed episode after everyone else has gone to bed (can’t have the BK and LK wandering in to something horrifically violent or even marginally menacing, and the Husband finds the show boring). But last night’s episode was so deeply upsetting that I was extremely keyed up afterward and not even a comedown via a streaming episode of New Girl could help me simmer down. So, I lay in bed until well past one a.m., tossing and turning, and running over that final sequence in my mind, trying to figure out any possible way that my two favorite characters in the show could possibly make it out of that situation alive. I also found it to be a bit poetic that this showdown on the To’hajiilee reservation featured the four people who were present at Walt’s entree into the meth-cooking game: Hank, Gomie, Jesse, and Walt.

Suffice it to say, I haven’t been able to concentrate on the many other things I need to be doing today, because I am short on sleep and also fabricating lots of theories for what will happen over the next three episodes (the series finale falls on my birthday — HAPPY BIRTHDAY TO ME).

Anyhoo, one of the things I don’t have to do today is prepare dinner. The BK has baseball practice and I’m teaching an evening class, so the Husband is in charge. This week is looking very much like a Week of Sandwiches (much like last week was inadvertently the Week of Rice).

Sunday: Slurpy Pan-Asian Noodles (from Kin O’Donnel’s The Meat Lover’s Meatless Cookbook, recipe below)
Monday: baseball (but I have put together a picnic for the LK, who will enjoy a rare weeknight playdate while her big brother is at practice: popcorn tofu from Wheatsville, a poppyseed bagel from Rockstar bagels, mini-chocolate chip cookies, a string cheese, and some apple slices; I’m sure the menfolk will get something from Top Notch or Thundercloud or something similar)
Tuesday: Chicken salad sandwiches
Wednesday: Crockpot sausages and peppers + bolillos (I didn’t get to make this last week because laziness)
Thursday: homemade pizza, per the BK’s request. He will help make it. Probably also some steamed broccoli or salad
Friday: TBD. We usually grab tacos or something easy after a long week.
Saturday: TBD. I can’t plan that far in advance. I think we ordered pizza this past Saturday.

slurpynoodles

 

Slurpy Pan-Asian Noodles
(adapted slightly from The Meat Lover’s Meatless Cookbook)

When the BK was a newborn, we ordered a lot of takeout, especially from Pei Wei. The Husband’s preferred dish back then was Dan-Dan Noodles. That is, until I kicked him out of our bedroom (where we ate most of that takeout) one night in a hormonal rage because they sounded too squishy. So, when I told him last night what I was making, he asked, “Am I going to have to eat them in another room?” Poor guy.

Because I let the BK help me with the stirring near the end of the cooking process, he was more inclined to eat them EVEN THOUGH OMG ALL THE VEGETABLES. I might not be able to get away with packing the leftovers in his lunch, though. Which is fine with me, since I loved these a real lot. While I made this as a vegan main, you could easily toss in some tofu, chicken, or any other kind of protein.

16 ounces udon noodles
2/3 cup soy sauce (I recommend using low-sodium; I didn’t and the dish was a little on the salty side)
8 t rice wine or sherry/sake/vermouth (I used white wine)
1 T hoisin sauce (I didn’t have any on hand, so I subbed in a t each of sesame oil, chili oil, and peanut butter)
6 T vegetable oil
6 cloves garlic, minced
3 carrots, cut into matchsticks
1 green bell pepper, chopped
1 orange bell pepper, chopped
6 bunches baby bok choy, cut into 1-inch pieces
1 cup snow peas
1 T sesame seeds

Boil the noodles for about 8 minutes, drain and set aside.
Place the soy sauce (minus 2 T, which you will set aside for later use), wine, and hoisin sauce (or my crazy substitute) in a small bowl and whisk until smooth.
Heat the oil in a wok over medium heat. Cook the ginger and garlic gently for about 30 seconds.
Add the carrots and pepper and cook for about 5 minutes.
Add the bok choy and snow peas and cook until all the vegetables are a little softer than al dente.
Add the reserved soy sauce and sesame seeds and stir to coat. Remove the veg from the wok and set aside.
Pour the sauce mixture into the wok and bring to a simmer. Add the noodles and coat them thoroughly with the sauce. Stir until the noodles are hot.
Return the veg to the wok and stir to combine.
Serve hot.

Leave a comment

1 Comment

  1. Nicole B.

     /  October 2, 2013

    Finally making this… but how much ginger?!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

