Prosciutto and Salted Caramel Pear Pizza


Yes, it has been more than a week. I pretty much blew it on the NaBloPlopPlopFizzFizz, didn’t I? Well, there was this little matter of a dissertation defense, and then I had, like, 8,000 papers to grade, and freelance projects to do, and life and stuff. Yes, excuses, excuses, but whatever. Life is good, even though I lasted all of like, six days, on this “blog every day in November” thing.

So, yeah. I defended. And I passed. And now I look to the future. There is one job I plan to apply for, but that pretty much means I’ve got to burn the midnight oil on job materials between now and the postmark date of November 30. Plus freelance work. Plus teaching. But that’s okay! Because soon the semester will be over! And I won’t have any more deadlines! Until I do!

Despite the fact that I’ve been ridiculously busy, I have still found time to hang out with my friends. In addition to the super-fun post-defense party at Contigo (omg, the tempura green beans and the pigs in blanket OM NOM NOM), a few days later I had my dear and lovely friends Crystal and Molly over to watch a few episodes of Why Quilts Matter and gossip and eat lunch. I decided to make a pizza that is an amalgam of a pizza I really like at Mandola’s and a recipe we saw on she-who-shall-not-be-named’s train wreck of a tv show.

First, I made the dough. I used 3 cups AP white flour, and 1 cup whole wheat flour. It helps to have active yeast that is actually alive. The last batch I had was dead, dead, dead.

After it rose, I pulled off half of the ball, drizzled some olive oil on a cookie sheet, then plopped the dough on the sheet and spread it out with my fingers. Then I spread the pear butter on the dough. Instead of fig spread, I used confituras salted caramel pear butter, as I thought the sweetness would contrast nicely with the salty, nutty bite of the fontina, as well as with the prosciutto.

Next time I might add a bit more fontina.

I baked the pizza for about 10 minutes at 500 degrees. I probably would have baked it a bit longer for a crispier crust.

Then I topped it generously with slices of prosciutto and a few handfuls of baby arugula and shaved parmigiano reggiano. Delish!

Previous Post
Next Post
Leave a comment

3 Comments

  1. Crystal

     /  November 17, 2011

    This was super delicious, Melanie! Thanks so much for making it for us! What a great afternoon that was. I will definitely be making this pizza for myself soon. I loved the introduction to Confituras’s Salted Caramel Pear Butter, too. I have got to get some of that asap!

    Reply
  2. I too want to testify: it was deeeeelish! Thanks for the yummies and the warm hospitality! XOXO

    Reply
  1. Austin to Boston Food Blogger Swap | My Rubberbandball

Leave a Reply

