Two beautiful meals


Obviously I didn’t do a meal plan this week, even though I have one written up. Things have REALLY picked up with the dissertation, which means I’ve got to focus my time on this final chapter revision, then major revisions of the whole project, then writing the introduction. ZOINKS! It’s getting down to brass tacks, my friends, which means that blogging is absolutely the lowest priority until further notice.

That said, I simply MUST share these two recipes with you, both taken from the current (March 2011) issue of Everyday Food. I have made them both this week and while I wouldn’t characterize either of them as being particularly fast (this is called the “FAST” issue), they are incredibly delicious. Not only that, they are very colorful and pleasing to look at. Sadly, my Bloggie camera is better suited to shooting movies than taking still shots, so these photos don’t really do these meals justice. Must remember to charge the regular camera’s batteries.

Pork fried rice

This fried rice is incredibly tasty, with just enough fragrant ginger to round out the flavors. I put extra carrot in there to boost the fiber content (and to offset the presence of pork AND egg). The kids were suspicious of it, but Matt and I both loved it. I took the leftovers for my lunch yesterday and was sad when it was gone. Definitely something to put in fairly regular rotation. I love how light it is (although it’s a bit of a POINTS bomb).

2 T canola oil
2 eggs, lightly beaten
2 T + ¼ t soy sauce
1 garlic clove, minced or pressed
1 T (approx) peeled, minced ginger
1 bunch scallions, white and green parts separated and thinly sliced
½ lb. ground pork
3 carrots, shredded
½ c shelled edamame
2 c cooked white rice (I cooked this in the rice cooker the night before)
2 T rice vinegar

    In a wok, heat 1 T oil on high. In a small bowl, beat the eggs with ¼ t of soy sauce. Add eggs to wok and swirl to coat bottom of pan. Cook until almost set, leaving it flat on the bottom and sides of the wok, then fold into thirds. Transfer to a cutting board and cut into thin strips. Set aside.

    Add 1 T oil to wok and coat the bottom and sides. Add garlic, ginger, and scallion whites and cook, stirring constantly, until fragrant, about 30 seconds. Add pork and cook until it is browned, about 3 minutes. Add carrots, edamame, and rice and stir to combine. Add egg, 2 T soy sauce, and vinegar and cook, stirring unti rice is coated. Let cook without stirring for a minute, until it is warmed through. Top with scallion greens and serve.

Asian chicken salad

I really hate the name “Asian chicken salad.” What about it is Asian? Soy sauce? Mint? Also, it makes me think of Margaret Cho’s “Asian chicken salad” bit.



“This is not the salad of my people!”

At any rate, this salad was delightful. It puts the lie to the “fast” promise because you have to shred the cabbage and the carrots, juice the limes, mince the jalapeno, and shred the chicken. 15 minutes my butt, Everyday Food! But this is super light and refreshing — we will definitely be eating a lot of this over the summer!

1/4 cup lime juice
2 t soy sauce
1 jalapeno, minced
2 t canola oil
1/2 t sugar
2 c shredded red cabbage
2 c mixed greens
3 shredded carrots
1 c shelled edamame
1 c lightly packed mint leaves
2 cups shredded cooked chicken

    In a large bowl, whisk together lime juice, soy sauce, jalapeno, oil, and sugar. Add cabbage, greens, carrots, edamame, mint, and chicken and toss well to combine. Serve immediately.

A variant that the magazine offers is to slice the jalapenos rather than mince and put the veggies on a baguette spread with mayo, top with the chicken and have a sort of banh mi. I did have a baguette, but I just used it on the side. The verdict? TASTY. I have a big tub of leftover salad for lunch today; I plan to take it with me to my Weight Watchers meeting (I’ve switched to a lunchtime meeting so that I can attend with friends) and make everyone else jealous.

Leave a comment

1 Comment

  1. I am SO trying that non-Asian chicken salad next week!

    Reply

Leave a comment