Happy Hippie Granola


That is not the name I would give it. I would call it, “OMG I JUST SAW JESUS granola,” it’s that good. Or maybe, “300 calories for half a cup ain’t so bad, is it?” granola.

I got a wild hair this weekend to make some granola. I think it’s because I have been Bittman-ing and Alton Brown-ing my diet (much less processed food, much less meat, much more mindfulness overall) and both of them advocate granola. So I thought I’d give it a whack. I tooled around the internet looking for recipes until I found one linked from The Kitchn to little blue hen’s recipe. Since I decided to take the morning to myself rather than reading, writing, or grading (or watching Friday Night Lights, boo!), I decided to try out this recipe with adaptations that suit my tastes and pantry.

Happy Hippie Granola
3 c old-fashioned rolled oats
3/4 c shredded coconut
1 c sliced almonds
3/4 c pepitas
2 T toasted wheat germ
2 T flax seeds
2 T dark brown sugar
1 t cinnamon
1/2 t salt
1/3 c canola oil
1/4 c honey
1/3 c Lyle’s golden syrup
3 T almond butter
1 t vanilla extract

Directions:
1.) Combine dry ingredients in a large mixing bowl. Stir well. Combine wet ingredients in a small bowl and whisk until emulsified. Pour emulsion over the dry ingredients and fold together until evenly coated.

2.) Spread the granola evenly on a large sheet pan. Bake at 300F for about 30 minutes, stirring every 10 minutes and paying careful attention in the last 5 minutes of baking. Let cool in pan five minutes, then use a spoon or spatula to break into desired-size pieces. Stir in raisins. Let cool completely before serving. Remember that it’s about 300 calories for a half-cup serving when you are tempted to keep grazing on it all day.

Leave a comment

1 Comment

  1. Waste not, want not | The Austin Lunch Lady

Leave a comment