Meal Plan: Week of 1/19/14-1/25/14


I meant to get a meal plan up last week, but I got swept away in the frenzy of the first week of the semester, meetings, interviews, workouts, etc. Here’s a quick rundown: steak and potatoes, chicken apple sausage and cheesy broccoli rice, pork tenderloin and roasted cabbage, and lemony chicken soup with orzo.

This week finds me, as ever, negotiating the tension between kid-friendly and waistline-friendly meals. The kids like lots of carbs and cheese, while I try to adopt a more vegetable-forward stance. There are more noodles in this menu than I’d like, but at least some of them are whole wheat.

Image

Sunday: Chicken yakisoba (note that this recipe calls for a LOT of ginger; next time I make this, I’ll use half as much. Also, I used tomato paste instead of ketchup in the sauce).
Monday: Easy macaroni casserole (I’ll be using Whole Foods brand whole-wheat shells, which are less than $2/box; the brand she’s pimping in this post was $3+ per package), salad
Tuesday: Beef with broccoli, brown rice
Wednesday: Dinner out with friends at Xian
Thursday: This is a late night, as the BK has basketball practice from 6-7 (and I have Zumba until 7:30), so I got a bag of cheese tortellini from Whole Foods and will ask the husband to prepare them for us.
Friday: It’ll be cold and rainy, so I’m going to make a big pot of chili and some cornbread.
Saturday: I’m hoping to go to Torchy’s, but if I am outvoted, I think I might make some tomato, mozzarella, and pesto paninis.

Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

