Oh hai! Happy 2014. Let’s read a book.


[Insert obligatory language here about neglecting the blog, etc. etc.]

Image

There are changes coming to this blog not soon, but now. How soon is now? Now is now. 

I turned this blog into a food blog a little over four years ago, when I had hit a pretty low point in the dissertation-writing process. I didn’t want to run the risk of whining about my project and pissing off my advisors, and I needed a non-academic outlet. So, I started posting recipes and meal plans and other food-related bloggy goodness. 

But then I kind of lost interest in food blogging. Partly because I felt (and still feel) like food blogging has gone about as far as it can go, and partly because I do a lot of writing about food in my professional life (both here and in the academic realm. Oh, and I guess in the book, too). 

As such, I’m branching back out in terms of the content of this blog. There will still be food-related posts, but I’m also interested in writing about the movies I’m watching, recapping Downton Abbey again, and embarking upon a project that will probably either blind me or drive me insane. 

You see, I can only name about three or four books that I read last year. For someone with a lifelong love of books (not to mention a PhD in literature), that’s an abysmal record. So, the goal that I’ve set for myself for 2014 is to read a book a week. That’s 52 books over the course of the next year. I have watched the tide of contemporary literature come and go, time and again, over the past couple of years but haven’t had my head above water well enough to keep up with it. Along those same lines, there are gaps in my literary education — I’m naming no names of the Major Books I haven’t read — and I intend to fill those in. There are lots of food titles I’m looking forward to reading, plus books by my friends, and poetry. Ah, poetry! You are the biggest gap in the reading list of my life. 

I’ve got a big stack going, plus a running list of books I plan to purchase or check out from the library. Every Wednesday, I’ll check in here about the book I just finished. I am open to your suggestions for fiction, nonfiction, poetry, memoir, and essay collections that you think I should include. 

Here’s my January syllabus: 

Jan. 1: Failure and I Bury the Body, by Sasha West (who’ll be reading and speaking at BookPeople on Wednesday, Jan 8!)

Jan 8: Let’s Pretend This Never Happened, by Jenny Lawson (a book club book)

Jan 15: Good Omens, by Terry Pratchett and Neil Gaiman (upon the recommendation of Bill and Dena’s daughter Ella)

Jan 22: Homeward Bound, by Emily Matchar

Jan 29: Vampires in the Lemon Grove, by Karen Russell

Keep checking back and feel free to read along with me! And send in those suggestions! 

Leave a comment

2 Comments

  1. 52 X 2014: Failure and I Bury the Body | My Rubberbandball
  2. Book Notes: Delicious! by Ruth Reich | My Rubberbandball

Leave a Reply

