Baked Sunday Mornings: Brown Butter Snickerdoodles


Here I am, finally jumping back into the Baked Sunday Mornings sandbox, and there’s no better time to do so than a.) on my birthday and b.) with some of my favorite cookies.

I love goodies with brown butter in them. I think brown butter can elevate even the most mundane dessert. I also love snickerdoodles. So, this recipe from Baked Elements should be a no-brainer, right?

Image

You would think so, right? But these are … not my favorite. They’re not BAD — in fact, they’re pretty tasty and pleasantly chewy. However, I had some problems with the cook time that I feel compromised the final product. The recipe says to bake the cookies for about 10 minutes, or until they were set (but to give them a couple of extra minutes for less chewyness, but don’t overbake them!).

My oven, I think, runs a bit cool, as things tend to take longer to cook than most recipes indicate (except when they don’t). I didn’t want to overbake these, but they were vey much not ready to take out at 10 minutes. I let them go for 13-14 minutes before pulling them and … they had raw spots in them yet. UGH. (See the pocket in the top cookie in the photo? Raw spot.) I wonder, too, whether I should have brought the dough close to room temperature before baking off the cookies; it was quite firm after a few hours’ chilling.

Again, these aren’t terrible, but they don’t have the consistency that I look for in a snickerdoodle. I have adopted Smitten Kitchen’s recipe as my go-to when I want snickerdoodles. They’re crisp on the outside and pillowy on the inside and, well, perfect.

Be sure to check out all the other participants’ thoughts on the brown butter snickerdoodles here.

Previous Post
Leave a comment

7 Comments

  1. Happy Birthday Melanie! Sorry you didn’t enjoy these 😦 I really like them, but had never had a snickerdoodle before… so expectations were not very high. They still look great!

    Reply
  2. Happy Birthday! Your cookies look wonderful! I prefer a slightly underdone cookie so that pocket in the photo above looks perfect to me!

    Reply
  3. Sorry about your problem with these cookies. I am with Candy I like a chewy cookie so they look good to me too! I love snickerdoodles and these ranked very high with me!

    Reply
  4. Wishing you a wonderful birthday! I really liked these, but I’ll take a look at Smitten Kitchen’s recipe, too.

    Reply
  5. Happy Birthday!! Will have to look at that recipe, as I do really love a snickerdoodle (now that I’ve had one)! Your cookies have a great puffiness to them….I think that is great. Normally everyone complains about them going flat. (so I think you’re on the right track…and perhaps it is an oven issue).

    Reply
  6. Sorry yours didn’t turn out well! I’m not usually a snickerdoodle fan, but I loved these.

    Reply
  7. Happy birthday and nice to meet you! 🙂 Sorry to hear you didn’t love these– they really do have a lot of potential. Do you use an oven thermometer? I never ever trust my oven temp, and if you have a little thermometer inside, you can adjust the temp setting accordingly. I’ll have to check out SK’s recipe as well– I’ve had great luck with her pies!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

