Baked Sunday Mornings: Grasshopper Bars (and a Slow Food Quiz Bowl wrapup)


I don’t think I’ve ever had a grasshopper bar before, nor have I had the drink. I think I might have had a bite or a slice of grasshopper pie at one point in the distant past, but not in any recent memory I can access in my mind grapes. That’s probably because all things grasshopper are so very dated by this point that it’s just not a thing anymore. Besides, I like to get my chocolate-mint combo in Thin Mint form anymore.

That said, I really like these bars. They are quite tasty (and when they were freshly made last night, they even tasted a bit boozy, although that aspect of their flavor profile has mellowed a bit since then) and pretty darn easy to make. Of course, I’ve made some variant of the Baked brownie about a million times now, so that step is pretty much second nature by now. I was pretty nervous about the buttercream, certain that I would jack it up one way or another, but it turned out beautifully. Seriously, I have nothing but good things to say about these bars. I would totally make them again, and probably will, since I have 90% of a bottle of Creme de Menthe left over. (Which reminds me: I was a bit paralyzed by indecision at the liquor store when faced with the option of the white or green creme de menthe. I went for green, obviously, for verisimilitude.)

I took a few of the bars with me to the quiz bowl today to share with my teammates:

I think it took Kathryn, like, three hours to eat this thing.

The quiz bowl was pretty fun. It was great to hang out with my food bloggy friends, hang out and crack wise with my new friend Christian and his wife Julie, and meet and talk with local restaurateurs while eating yummy food. While our team did not fare so well (things I’m proud of: my pulling the answer for “raclette” out of thin air at the very last second, knowing what “farmstead cheese” means; Jodi and Kathryn pouncing on the ingredient list for the Moscow Mule; Megan knowing that “sushi” is called that because of the rice that’s used. Things I’m not proud of: costing our team 5 points for answering that authentic mozzarella is made from cow’s milk, not buffalo, EVEN THOUGH MY STUPID BRAIN KNEW IT WAS BUFFALO), it was nice to know that we were part of a much bigger project, which was helping raise money for Slow Food Austin and a local charity. The team that beat us, Barley Swine, went on to take the whole prize; they will donate the $1200 prize pool to Urban Roots, a worthy organization indeed.

After the event, the husband and I went home to relieve my folks of babysitting duties, and we cooked dinner. I made a huge salad, a big bowl of fruit, and Matt grilled some chicken, steak, and ribs. We turned off all of the various screens and just enjoyed each other’s company and conversation (topping off the meal, of course, with grasshopper bars!). Everything about today — from making the bars from scratch to sharing them with my friends, to enjoying the fruits of this community’s commitment to local foodways, to preparing and enjoying a leisurely meal with my family — was the very epitome of Slow Food. Everything is connected, no?

Leave a comment

8 Comments

  1. I loved the grasshopper bars! I finally finished mine after our tremendous loss, along with a Moscow Mule to celebrate. 🙂

    Reply
  2. Your grasshopper bars were delicious and I’m actually pretty impressed by my performance thinking back to the pressure we were under — the audience, the time constraint, etc. We were a great team! Also, your evening with your family sounds so lovely. That’s what it’s all about, for sure!

    Reply
  3. Jaime

     /  August 14, 2011

    Ha! I too was a bit paralyzed by the “clear” vs. “green” decision with the creme de menthe 🙂 I loved these, and I am glad you enjoyed your first Grasshopper experience!

    Reply
  4. Awesome looking bars! I could not find any creme de menthe and they were good anyway.

    Reply
  5. Sounds like you had a perfect day! Your bars look great!

    Reply
  6. beautiful bars! i’m sure they were delicious!

    Reply
  7. That trivia sounds so fun! Your bars look beautiful!

    Reply
  8. Food and Friends, a great mix. Very nice to take these tasty bars for your friends to enjoy.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

