Baked Sunday Mornings: Carrot Coconut Scones with Citrus Glaze


Okay, this one was a total dark horse. I would never in a million years have chosen these from the cookbook to work with, but Ho-Lee Wow. These are Uh. Maz. Ing. Hats off to the fearless organizer of Baked Sunday Mornings for picking a winner!

(Please forgive the crappy photos. I shot these at night. Ugh. Embarrassing. It looks better if you click and enlarge it, tho.)

I knew when I read this recipe that I had to use carrots from Johnson’s Backyard Garden, because they are so sweet and juicy and just taste so much better than grocery-store carrots. So I made a special trip to the farmers’ market this morning to get a bag of them to make the puree. I had a little trouble with the puree because despite whether I put them in the blender or my mini-food processor, the carrots kept slipping under the blades and not getting pureed. So I think maybe my scones have larger chunks of carrots than they’re meant to have.

No matter. These are so delicious, I probably could have just put hunks of carrots in there and they’d still be amazing. Not that I didn’t fear for the outcome. You see, I have a method for cutting scones: I put the dough into a cake pan, slice them, and transfer them to a baking sheet. However, this dough was too sticky for that maneuver. Except I learned that after I’d put the dough in the cake pan. So, I took a deep breath, brushed on the egg whites, and put the pan into the oven and baked a scone cake. After about 15 minutes, I took the pan out, cut the cake into six pieces, and baked them off a few more minutes.

While these cooled, I mixed together some cream scones with apricot and white chocolate. (I’m taking the scones to a food swap tomorrow.) As I was transferring the “raw” cream scones onto the baking sheet, my husband wandered through the kitchen and said, “Oh my g-d, those look amazing. Like, they look like the most amazing freaking scones in the world, and these [gesturing to the raw scones] just look ‘meh.'” I told him that he could have one of the carrot scones after he took out the trash. I applied the glaze and set them aside (this citrus glaze is really yummy, but I also think that a gingery glaze would go nicely. I have some ginger syrup that my friend Carly made and I might try to utilize it the next time I make these.).

(Side note: that cream scone recipe results in the kind of scones I love. Tender yet glutinous, fluffy but not cakey, and not too sweet. I have some opinions about scones.)

When he got back inside, I put one of the scones on a plate for him (I made six scones and they are GARGANTUAN). He said, “Oh, I just want a bite, I don’t need this whole thing.” I broke off 1/4 or 1/3 of the pastry for myself after he’d had a bite or two and went about my business. He put the plate on the table and went about his business. But then I kept seeing him wander by the table.

I think he liked it.

Leave a comment

12 Comments

  1. I love your idea for using a cake pan to cut your scones! These were great and I thought that the addition of some ginger would be amazing as well.

    Reply
  2. it was hit with my husband too πŸ™‚ great job on the scones!

    Reply
  3. I’m glad to hear your dough was super sticky, because mine was too. I debated just baking it as one “cake,” like you did, but wasn’t clever enough to think about taking them out half-baked and then slicing them into triangles. Instead I baked sorta shapeless scone mounds, and that worked out fine. Yours look fantastic!

    Reply
  4. I had bits of carrots in mine as well, but I loved the added texture and I think you scone looks so pretty with the specks of carrots throughout. So glad you liked these!

    Reply
  5. Very nice post and pretty scones. I like the bits of carrot.

    Reply
  6. Sally

     /  April 10, 2011

    Hey–on the troublesome getting-the-scones-out-of-the-pan front, what if you were to put your dough into a springform pan? A well-greased one. That way, you can get the shape, and then just pop off the outside ring before it’s time for the scones to go into the oven. They look tasty, by the way!

    Reply
  7. how CAN they not like it! Weren’t these just the best? I would never have thought these ingredients would go together at all – what a nice surprise. They look fabulous!

    Reply
  8. I just figured I had no chance of liking these, so I didn’t make them. Maybe I should have. Your story is an inspiration!

    Reply
  9. Oh man! I have carrots in the crisper. πŸ™‚ Would you share the recipe with me?

    Reply
  10. Amy

     /  April 13, 2011

    Are you sharing this recipe? Thanks!

    Reply
  11. The last photo of the empty plate says it all ! After looking at everyones pics and reading the posts I deeply regret missing this baking ! Beautiful job

    Reply
  1. ATX Food Swappers, April edition | My Rubberbandball

Leave a Reply

