Quiche Savoyard a la Tomme … sort of


Back in the late 1990s, I spent some time in Melbourne, Australia. I had been working a series of crappy post-college jobs, hadn’t really found myself, and got a wild hair to go Down Under. I scrimped and saved my money for months, then boarded a plane on December 1, 1998 and commenced my adventure. While I was there, I ate very conservatively because I was dead broke. Australia is expensive!

One of my favorite meals was a sandwich with a skosh of Vegemite, sliced tomatoes, and Coon cheese. The flavors of this quichey-tarty-thing are somewhat reminiscent of that treat, even though I totally failed to get the crust right. See?

So, instead of a delightful eggless tart that reminded me of that Aussie sandwich, I punted and turned it into a crustless quiche.

Crustless Quiche Savoyard a la Tomme
adapted from Quiches, Kugels and Couscous by Joan Nathan

1/4 cup breadcrumbs
12 slices white cheddar cheese
2 large to medium tomatoes
1/3 cup Nicoise olives, pitted and coarsely chopped
3 eggs
1.5 cups milk (I blended about 1/4 cup heavy cream and the rest 2% milk)
1 T stone ground mustard
1 t Herbes de Provence
1/8 cup shredded Parmigiano Reggiano

Preheat oven to 425 degrees.
Spray a pie plate with cooking spray, then coat the bottom with the breadcrumbs.
Slice the tomatoes thinly, remove seeds, a place on a plate. Add salt and pepper and let them rest for about 10 minutes. Then drain the water off the tomatoes and blot them dry. Lay the slices of cheese on top of the breadcrumbs, then layer the tomatoes. Sprinkle olives on top of cheese and tomatoes.
In a separate dish, mix milk, eggs, and mustard together. Pour the custard mixture into the pie plate. Sprinkle the Herbes de Provence and shredded Parmigiano Reggiano on top.
Bake for 25-30 minutes, then let cool for 5 minutes or so. Serve with salad and crusty bread.

Ugly but delicious

This was really, really delicious. It could have been a little firmer, but I used a lower-fat milk and probably didn’t blot the tomatoes as well as I could have. “The olives add a deliciousness factor of 4,” my husband said. I’m not sure what that means, but they really did just put this delicious dish way over the top. So, so yummy.

Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

