Menu plan: January 17-23


It’s cookbook week! I’ve decided to plan this week’s menu from my cookbook archives, especially since I have some that I’ve barely used! However, tragedy has struck! I just got back from this week’s shop (done a day late because I was out of town) and left my menu plan at the grocery store. D’oh! So, I’m cobbling this together from memory.

Monday: Meatless night! Aloo gobi from my new copy of The Indian Slow Cooker, a Christmas gift from my brother and sister-in-law.

Tuesday: Tilapia fish tacos, beans, salad

Wednesday: leftovers/fend for yourself

Thursday: Quiche Savoyarde a la Tomme from Joan Nathan’s Quiches, Kugels, and Couscous, which was sent to me via the inimitable Jodi Bart. I tragically missed out on the opportunity to see Ms. Nathan at the Jewish Book Festival back in October because of my stupid email filters. I’m still kicking myself over it. Salad and crusty bread.

Friday: Soup and sandwiches. I’ve got a ton of soup in the freezer from a soup swap I attended back in December. Probably veggie minestrone for the kids and a curried groundnut for me and Matt. Also, Matt bought a new panini press at the Macy’s closing sale down the street, so we’ll probably give that a whirl.

Saturday: I just picked up some center-cut pork chops at the grocery, so we’ll have those along with some couscous and maybe some salad or veggies from the farmer’s market.

Sunday: Roasted chicken with potatoes and onions from The Lee Bros. Simple, Fresh, Southern, which Matt gave to me last Christmas. I’ve not cooked much from it apart from the pimiento and cheese gratin, but I’ve got my eye on the radish butter to take to my friend’s Super Bowl party. (Because nothing says SUPER BOWL like radish butter!)

(Pausing to say here: You may be scoffing at the idea of radish butter, but I say that you have not lived until you’ve had a thick piece of multigrain bread with a generous shmear of good butter and sliced radishes. HEAVENLY.)

There you have it! What’s for dinner at your house this week?

Leave a comment

5 Comments

  1. Jen

     /  January 17, 2011

    I’ll be interested to hear how the Indian slow cooker cookbook is…we love both the cuisine and the method here, so I may see a new cookbook in my future. I too usually do a weekly menu and one big shop, but alas, having had the hubs out of town all week I found myself barely eeking out dinner last night much less having a menu planned.

    Monday: Baked pasta with butternut squash and ricotta.
    Tuesday: Chicken Corn Chowder
    Wednesday and beyond: TBD

    Reply
  2. Sally

     /  January 17, 2011

    We’re having fish tacos this week, too! On Friday.
    Monday–chicken pot pie with extra biscuits on the side for the peanut gallery, salad, and steamed broccoli.
    Tuesday–Oatmeal night! At Iris’ request. Mixed fruit smoothies on the side.
    Wednesday: My 12-hour workday, so the girls will have PB&J and a movie evening, Chad will probably finish off last week’s pulled pork, and I’ll be having a light snack when I get home around 10.
    Thursday: Black bean soup, steamed veg, salad, apple slices, and tortillas.
    Friday: tilapia fish tacos with lots and lots of slaw, carrot sticks, pear slices, and maybe some jarred peaches.
    Saturday: Slow cooker pot roast with roast veggies, some kind of tasty roll/bread, and another trip to the salad well.
    Sunday: Spaghetti squash with chunky sauce.

    Reply
  1. Aloo gobi in the crockpot | My Rubberbandball
  2. Curried Chicken Pan Roast, or, coping with failure | My Rubberbandball
  3. Radish butter | My Rubberbandball

Leave a Reply

