Better late than never: Baked Sunday Mornings, Almond Joy Tart


I just absolutely did not have my stuff together to make this tart and post it by noon on January 2. We’d just gotten back from Arizona and were hosting my family for a New Year’s Day/post-Christmas dinner. There was simply no time to get it done. But I wanted to give it a whack because I hate missing out on things and it looked delicious. So, I borrowed a tart pan (I’m a cupcakes/cookies/brownie girl! I have no gear for tarts!) and got started.

After I put the dough together, I let it sit in the fridge for a day or so (this week has been busy, too!). When I tried to roll it out, it was too cold and looked like this:

I decided it would be more pliable if I let it warm up a bit, so I walked away for a little while (maybe 10 minutes or so?). When I came back, it was more pliable and I was able to smoosh it into the tart pan and bake it off. Here’s what it looked like when it came out of the oven:

Then, the next day (being Friday), I made the filling and ganache — FINALLY!. Lord, I am a mess (but I did get most of my spring syllabus planned and added a whopping four more pages to my final dissertation chapter!). I think I let my ganache rest too long because I was washing dishes, so it wasn’t all velvety; rather, I had to help it across the top of the tart. It’s still pretty, tho:

(Have you ever wondered about the little vignettes in which the desserts appear in the cookbook? In this case, the tart rests among some spools of heavy-duty thread, an outline of a bush hat, and … a sweetgum ball? I don’t get it.)

Anyhoo, I thought the tart was tasty, if a bit cloying. The coconut cream filling is REALLY sweet, and overpowers the chocolate; in my opinion, those flavors should be more in balance. This might be a problem of proportion, since I made a full-size tart instead of six small ones, but if I were to make this again, I’d use 10% less filling and 10% more ganache. And now that I’ve had my slice, it’s time for me to farm out hunks of it to my friends and neighbors and see what they think!

Previous Post
Leave a comment

6 Comments

  1. I had lots of leftover coconut filling even though I had a quite a few spoonfuls as I was making my tarts and I also had some ganache left over after making seven small tarts. Your tart looks great and congratulations of finishing more pages on your final dissertation chapter!

    Reply
  2. I don’t know that I’d use the word cloying, but I absolutely agree that a bit less filling and a bit more chocolate would have provided some balance. But then, I feel the same way about the actual almond joy candy bar. So you did stay true to the tart’s namesake. Your crust was fabulous, by the way!

    Thanks for sharing a piece. I ate half and left the other half at work; it’s in the fridge and calling my name!

    Reply
    • boxingoctopus

       /  January 10, 2011

      Yeah, cloying is maybe not the right word. I had another tiny slice last night and realized that after a few days’ rest, the flavors were much more in balance. But I still sent most of the tart away for my butt’s sake!

      Reply
  3. Yum! Looks great. I really liked this tart but I skipped the rum in the coconut ganache and subbed vanilla. I didn’t find it too sweet so maybe skipping the rum helps to temper it? Also, I agree- that vignette makes no sense. I’m not a food stylist by any means so I’m no expert but it does seem like the props should be somewhat related to the dish.

    Reply
  1. White chocolate cranberry oatmeal cookies with candied orange peel | My Rubberbandball
  2. Smitten Saturdays: Wild Mushroom Tart « My Rubberbandball

Leave a Reply

