Holiday Recipe Zine


This year, I decided to do something a little different when it came to holiday cards. Rather than the usual card + photo of kids + letter (which I am not consistent about including anyway), I put together a little zine featuring some of our favorite, most-used recipes for 2010. I got the idea from Isa Moskowitz, who suggested it in a status update on the Post Punk Kitchen Facebook page. This site has a little primer on how to do it; I relied on it plus a hazy remembrance of my zine days back in the ’90s.

I get by with a little help from Trader Joe's dark chocolate almonds!

Matt designed the cover art, a rendering of a Space Invader in toast (a “toast invader,” if you will), and I selected a not-very-seasonal bright yellow for the cover (my rationale being that the image and the addresses would show up better on something bright). I did a limited run of 35 copies, so a large swath of our address list was left out, but we were able to include our closest friends and relations, along with a couple of people who responded to a giveaway-type query on Facebook.

I handwrote all the recipes using a fine point Sharpie, and attempted to draw cute little anthropomorphic ingredients on each page. The recipes included were:

Curried Pea dip
Spicy Peanut and Eggplant soup from Veganomicon
Parmesan Crusted Chicken Tenders from EatingWell
Martha’s Mac and Cheese adapted from Smitten Kitchen (I really hate it with the bread cubes on top)
Lemon Bars from Smitten Kitchen

I made each of these dishes several times in 2010 and they stand out as the most popular either within our family or as served at parties and whatnot.

Of course, because I’m me (or because we went to Phoenix during the run-up to Christmas and didn’t get back until Dec. 28), I didn’t get them out until this Monday. The responses are starting to trickle in, and it sounds like if people are going to try any of the recipes, they’re going to start with the chicken tenders. If the zine is a bona fide hit, I may do it again next year; that said, I’ll start a heck of a lot sooner!

Leave a comment

3 Comments

  1. Mariah

     /  January 6, 2011

    Love it! I’d have to start on mine right now for next year 🙂 I’m amazed you did anything at all- superwoman!

    Reply
  2. Sally

     /  January 11, 2011

    We love it! And…I’m planning to try the curried pea dip. Want it to sit alongside a curried carrot dip. Not sure what the occasion will be, though. The Superbowl Party seems an inappropriate time for such healthy snack food. Maybe, though!

    Reply
  3. Aunt R

     /  January 14, 2011

    Thank you!! T is looking forward to the mac n’ cheese, I’m staring at the bountiful lemon tree out back and wishing it could make lemon bars its own darn self.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

