Cold fusion


Have you ever made a dish on the fly that you’ll probably never be able to replicate again? I think I did that tonight.

I had bought some multicolored veggie pasta shells on a whim and had a hankering for some homemade mac and cheese. I didn’t really check the cheese supply in the drawer before starting, though, so I pretty much set myself up for failure.

First, I whipped up a bechamel with about a T of unsalted butter, a rough 1/4-cup of flour, and 1.5 c milk. And then, I threw in about 3/4 cup Kraft shredded Mexican blend! Then about a T of shredded cheddar/monterey jack! And then about 1/4 cup shredded Parmesan! And then a slice of Havarti! And then a couple of hunks of Beecher’s Flagship!

Then I drained the cooked shells and had way more cheese sauce than pasta, so I cooked up some mini penne and threw that in!

And it was delicious! (Of course, because my darling boy LOATHES homemade mac and cheese, he had to have the obligatory tantrum about “disgusting mac and cheese!”) And I’ll never be able to make it again. Cold fusion.

Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

