Turkey meatloaf


My son, my first baby, my darling boy, started kindergarten this week. As a result, I’ve tried making healthful adaptations of some of his favorite meals (on Monday I made these; they were not close enough to the deep-fried cognate and therefore didn’t make it into his lunchbox. They are lovely sliced up on a Big Salad for Mommy, tho) in an attempt to have tasty leftovers to put in his Laptop Lunchbox.

One of his favorite meals from his preschool was meatloaf (“with sauce!”), so when I found this turkey meatloaf recipe in Lunch Lessons, I was eager to try it out.

Turkey Meatloaf
adapted from Lunch Lessons

1/2 c yellow onion, diced small
1/4 c shredded carrot
2 cloves garlic, minced
1 T canola oil
1 lb ground turkey breast
1.5 lb ground turkey thigh
1 t chopped parsley
1/2 c panko
3 eggs
1 t kosher salt
a half-dozen cranks of the pepper mill
3 T ketchup

Preheat the oven to 350 F. Spray a loaf pan with cooking spray.
Saute onion, garlic, and carrot in the oil until soft.

Remove from the heat and allow to cool slightly.
Combine the sauteed ingredients with the turkey, parsley, panko, eggs, salt, and pepper and mix well.

Pack the mixture into the loaf pan, coat top with ketchup, and bake about 45 to 60 minutes.

The verdict? It was DELICIOUS. The only problem was that when I took it out of the oven after about 55 minutes, assuming it was done, I was dismayed to discover that it was raw, raw, raw in the middle. So, with my family sat at the table, waiting for their dinner, I was forced to nuke our slices for four minutes!!! I put the rest of the loaf back in and baked it for another 20 minutes or so. It went nicely with some green beans sauteed in canola oil with garlic, salt, and slivered almonds.

Previous Post
Next Post
Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

