Night Two: Crockpot baked potatoes


Oh, friends, I drink from the cup of bitterness tonight. I had such high hopes for these potatoes, as one of my favorite things to eat is a potato with just a skosh of butter (okay, like a tablespoon, who am I kidding?), a sprinkle of cheese, and a dab of salsa. Alas, it was not to be this night.

The internet (a pox upon it!) told me that I could wash the potatoes, pierce them with a fork, wrap them in foil, put them in the crockpot, and cook them on low for 10-11 hours, which is precisely what I did. One potato (of the five) turned out beautifully (it was the one on top). The other four were waaay overcooked, the flesh an unappetizing taupe, and bitter to the taste. Matt dutifully took his potato, which he then proceeded to pretend wasn’t on his plate, ate his steamed broccoli, then had some chips and salsa after I angrily confiscated the untouched potato. The children didn’t touch theirs (I gave Laurel the perfectly cooked one). I am hungry and wanting pop tarts.

Leave a comment

1 Comment

  1. Sally

     /  April 28, 2010

    I think the crockpot recipes lie about how long things actually take. My crockpot seems to cook extra hot on “low,” so whenever we’ve had a crockpot recipe, we have to assume it’ll take at least a couple hours less than the recipe calls for. Someone was recently telling me that contemporary slow cookers are set to higher heats due to food poisoning concerns than the old-school models, and I am inclined to believe it. I’ve destroyed a few things, but now I just assume things will take less time and make plans to babysit anything that I haven’t cooked before or that doesn’t involve A LOT of liquid to keep the scorching at bay!

    My standby for baked potatoes (which I make approximately once a year), btw, is the microwave for 5 to10 minutes followed by a finish in the oven to get a little crisp on the skin. That finish could probably happen in the toaster oven, come to think of it. Anyway, the whole process takes about 15 minutes, which is nice.

    I hope your dinner tonight is lovely to make up for last night’s sadness!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

