Night one: Greens and Mushroom quiche


I had to rearrange the order of the menu this week because the palaak tofu only cooks in the crockpot for 3-4 hours, and I wasn’t going to be able to come home in the middle of the afternoon to do the prep. So, that one will come tomorrow or on Thursday. So, I chose to do the easiest one on my list: the quiche.

Of course, it wasn’t super easy because my darling girl turns into a Cling-on every evening right around dinner-cookery time:

Even through tears, the Cling-on has a smile(ish) for the camera.

I cut up the chard, spinach, and mushrooms:

Tossed them into my pre-made crust (I don’t do crust; it’s a failing):

Suitable for vegans!

Added about a quarter-cup of shredded swiss and a quarter-cup of shredded cheddar/monterey jack. Poured 1.5 cups half and half into a Pyrex and added two eggs:

Not suitable for vegans!

Added 12 turns of the peppermill and 4 turns of the salt mill (because cheese is already salty) and just a peeeensch of nutmeg. Tossed it in a 375 oven for 40 minutes, which was too long because when it came out, it looked like this:

Not burnt, but the cheese on top shouldn't really be that brown.

It was a bit soggy and very not pretty:

But it was taaaasty. I only had one slice (about 250 cals) because I’m really cracking down on my calorie intake. My husband had two slices and said, “It tastes like a salad with scrambled eggs.” Next time I will be more aggressive in squeezing out the greens before putting them in the pie in hopes that it won’t be quite so soggy.

Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

