A week of vegetarian meals


This week, I attempt to serve my family meatless dinners. Partly because I feel like we’ve gotten into a food rut, partly because we simply need to eat better (dinner tends to be my biggest meal of the day, which is problematic because I usually have already eaten most of my calories for the day by the time 7pm rolls around). My friend Kelli told me that she and her husband were implementing a “no sweets, spirits, or meats except on days that start with ‘S'” plan, hence this experiment.

This calls for creativity on my part, as when I was “vegetarian” in the past, I fell back on pasta dishes, Taco Bell bean burritos, and Boca burgers far more often than I care to admit. This week’s menu includes:

Monday: crockpot palaak tofu (plus chard), served over rice and with multigrain naan bread
Tueday (baseball practice night): crockpot baked potatoes and steamed broccoli, fruit
Wednesday: penne a la vodka, maybe some multigrain bread, salad
Thursday: spinach, chard, and mushroom quiche, salad
Friday: crockpot beans and rice, fixins

I plan to blog each night’s meals, so stay tuned! And wish me luck.

Previous Post
Leave a comment

2 Comments

  1. beccamans

     /  April 25, 2010

    Good luck! Personal favorite vegetarian meal – veggie/tofu fried rice! Also, Kroger carries a really good vegetarian taco mix.

    Reply
  2. Jen

     /  April 26, 2010

    Ooh, I’ll be interested in reading about the results. We’ve been observing Meatless Monday for about a year now and it has pushed the culinary envelop for me. One of our favorite, super fast veggie meals: marinated grilled portobello mushroom sandwiches with provolone, roasted red bell peppers and a smear of pesto. In fact, that’s what’s on the menu tonight.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

