The light


I can see it! This is the last week of classes for the semester. After this week, I will not have to stand in front of a classroom of college students until January. It sounds more dramatic when I say “until 2010!!!” I found out last week that I was awarded a semester-long dissertation fellowship for next AY. I chose to take the Fall to write for two reasons: a.) so that I could have the rest of this calendar year to focus solely on my dissertation and b.) so that I wouldn’t have to go back to teaching a class that I loathe and working in the writing center as well. I am being paid by our Asian American Studies department to teach my AA Lit class next spring, but they didn’t have the funds to pay me for both long semesters, which meant that for the fall I was being bumped back to the rhet/comp ghetto (no offense to those rhet/comp aficionados out there; i see the value in rhetoric courses in helping undergrads think critically about life, but really prefer to teach lit). So, I’ve been rescued on a couple of counts. I feel so, so grateful to be able to just focus on my writing without the demands of teaching creeping in — I feel very hopeful that this will enable me to defend and graduate this time next year.

In other news, Laurel is already six months old! How did that happen? We had been chugging along beautifully until a couple of nights ago — I think she’s going through a growth/developmental spurt of late, because her sleep has been crap the past few nights. Waking up 3-4 times, thrashing, crying, etc. Things really came to a head last night when her crappy sleep was exacerbated by nasal congestion and a persistent cough. The nightmare started around 11:30 and lasted until about 4:30, when I was near tears and begging Matt for just one hour of sleep, that’s all I wanted. Just an hour. Fortunately, that’s when she simmered down and slept for about three hours without waking.

Harrison has turned into a little despot when it comes to the TV, so we’re doing some serious behavior mod this week. No TV in the mornings before school, and he’s limited to 30 minutes in the afternoon when he gets home. There is absolutely no excuse or reason for a 3-year-old to determine the TV-viewing habits of an entire family. He’s just going to have to find something else to do while at home with no TV. Like, oh, I don’t know, play with the HUNDREDS (THOUSANDS?) OF DOLLARS WORTH OF TOYS IN HIS ROOM?!?!? I’m just spitballing here.

Ok, enough jibba jabba. Time to go write about Bobos in the Namesake. (Oh, and can I just say that having appendicitis back in February was the best thing that could have happened to my dissertation? If I hadn’t been in the hospital on the morning of Feb. 27, I wouldn’t have seen the Today Show’s salute to Bollywood, inspired by Slumdog’s sweep of the Oscars, and I wouldn’t have a way to talk about why my texts are important to this cultural moment.) Hooray for my erstwhile appendix! May it rest in peace.

Next Post
Leave a comment

1 Comment

  1. A

     /  May 5, 2009

    Yay Appendix! So sorry it had to result in some pain. Woohoo for the doctoral studies. I’m so proud of you!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

