beef broth is a poor substitute for enchiladas


so, tuesday i had a mild tummyache in the morning that grew to a monstrous one by evening. I woke up on Wednesday morning feeling better, but like I had bad gas pains. I ate a very mild breakfast and went up to campus, fully intending to teach my class.

However, the walk from my office to the classroom was just too much for me, so I gave my students a walk. I went home and slept for three hours. When I woke up and realized that my pain was now concentrated in the lower right part of my abdomen, I called the doctor.

Fast forward 36 hours and I’m in the hospital, having had an emergency appendectomy last night around 10pm or so. The last thing I remember is the surgeon reciting Puff the Magic Dragon to me while a bunch of people did stuff around my body. Then I woke up in recovery with a nurse going, WAKE UP, MELANIE!

So, here I am, in the hospital, on a clear liquids only diet, fantasizing about fried chicken tenders, gooey enchiladas, tres leches cake, french fries, and cookies. I might be in as long as until Saturday, which will suck, but I was having a hard time keeping water and broth down this morning and I suspect that bought me more time in the clink.

Meanwhile, I watch tv, catch up on blogs, nap, pump and dump, and wonder why in the hell random strangers keep wandering into my room. Strangers who are here to visit a patient that is not me. ARGH!!

Previous Post
Next Post
Leave a comment

7 Comments

  1. Marcee

     /  February 27, 2009

    Oh dear, I’m so sorry. I had an appendectomy in high school. I was coming home from a football game on a Friday night, thought I just had gas or maybe a bad chili dog or both. After a progressively painful night, we went to the doc Saturday morning and I was appendix-less by 3:00. I can’t believe you lasted that long! I didn’t even make 20 hours. I hope you take it easy and live up the recovery time. And I hope they don’t keep you that long, I never get any rest in hospitals (all thought it may different now with a kid…)
    Take care!

    Reply
  2. BetsyD

     /  February 27, 2009

    I’d come visit you if I were in town, M. Feel better soon (and celebrate with greasy, cheesy goodness)!

    Reply
  3. Oh no! I hope you’re home and feeling much better now. It sounds like you didn’t have any kind of warning signs. How scary!

    Reply
  4. Gimpy!

     /  February 27, 2009

    And, my Mom’s in the hospital, too. So, who’s going to be the third to complete the triumvirate? Sigh.

    I’ll be thinking of you. Feel better!

    Reply
  5. Jen

     /  February 27, 2009

    I was so hoping when I read your f-book post on Wednesday that it was just a gallbladder flare up (apparently quite common among the thirty-something mommy set). Alas, sorry to read it was a full-on-surgery-required ordeal. Get well soon!

    Reply
  6. wuh

     /  February 27, 2009

    i tell ya, i was afraid that i was going to wander in on the wrong person because your name wasn’t anywhere! i’m down with hippaa and all that, but damn!

    Reply
  7. wow, that’s crazy! Glad you’re getting better. Maybe put a sign up that says, if you’re not here to see me, stay out!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

