A quickie recipe before I skedoodle off to bed


Because otherwise, I’ll forget. I spent nearly $20 on veggies at the farmer’s market on Saturday, which is a lot of cheddar for some peppers, know what I’m sayin’? I was bound and determined to make use of them rather than throw them in the trash (sadly, the french radishes I bought shriveled up before I could get to them; boo).

There’s a particular farm I like to buy from because their produce is always gorgeous and plentiful (although I hear their CSA boxes leave a bit to be desired), and the wife has breast cancer. So, I try to support them even though the customer service can be a bit … surly … sometimes. So, here’s my recipe for Random Farmer’s Market Veggie Soup. The veggies with asterisks next to them are what I got from the FM; the rest I supplemented with storebought veg that needed to be used before they went the way of the neighbor’s compost bin.

16 oz. package cream peas*

purple bell pepper*

yellow bell pepper*

orange bell pepper*

1 cup yellow cherry tomatoes*

1/2 clump bok choy

1/2 eggplant

a few button mushrooms

baby carrots

2 cloves garlic

1 very small yellow onion*

Saute onion and garlic. Add peas. Cover with water and bring to a boil, then simmer for 15-20 minutes. Add other veggies, plus a couple of bay leaves, some salt and pepper, and other spices to taste. Add more liquid (I used half a carton of organic beef broth and a couple of cups of water because that’s what I had on hand; next time I’ll skip the beef broth and use a combo of veggie broth and maybe some tomato paste or something), cover and simmer.

That’s it. It’s really, really simple and delicious. I plan to take some for lunch tomorrow, along with some Costco tortilla strips (you know, the kind that cost $3 for 70 pounds). I imagine it would also be good with some crusty bread and a hunk of cheddar cheese or something. Future iterations of this soup will likely include spinach and other winter greens (except chard, which I’ve decided I hate because I ate a big dish of it during my prolonged morning-sickness phase this past spring), maybe some cabbage, butternut squash, kohlrabi.

Leave a comment

2 Comments

  1. Montana Mike

     /  October 13, 2008

    Mmm. Sounds tasty. I went a little (lot) more decadent this weekend to celebrate our first snowfall. Bay Scallop Chowder made with, yes, half & half. However, a small serving is quite satisfying. And I always add more veggies than the recipe asks for. Not to mention my usual secret ingredients.

    Reply
  2. Mmmm. Soup and crusty bread. Sounds so good today.

    Thanks for posting the recipe.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

