Potty update (among other things)


So this is what this blog has come to, is it? A buncha potty talk? Well, before I get into that, I will report that today I finished my last round of revisions (for now) on my first dissertation chapter! FUCK YEAH! Now I get to start a brand-new chapter from scratch. Boo. Let’s hope this one takes less than a year to write. But first, I must finish my syllabus and get my course packet ready for the start of classes next week.

So, last Wednesday, Aug 13, I wrote this email to my 05 mamas’ group in re potty training:

I have offered every bribe from the privilege of helping out with a favorite chore (making coffee — he loves to put the beans in the grinder), to M&Ms, to a special trip to the bookstore to buy a new book and NOTHING WORKS. I’m talking tears, throwing his body on the floor (this morning he did it while starkers — can’t have been comfortable), absolute outright refusal to pee in the potty.

Last week, he peed in the potty twice in the morning and once at big boy school, but then developed a real complex about it. His overnight pullup was bone-dry this morning and he STILL refused to pee in the potty. I am about to tear out my hair. And stop buying pullups, because those fuckers are a crutch.

Since then, Harry has started going peepee in the potty independently every single day, with ONE accident at school and two at my grandparents’ house this weekend (I blame total absorption in playing with the older cousins for those). He consistently announces that he needs to go pee-pee in the potty and does everything by himself, from putting the toddler seat on the toilet to unfastening his pants, to the final hand-washing.

Today he pooped in the potty twice — once at school and once at home, TOTALLY UNCOACHED. Wow. What a difference a week makes. I bought him a new Thomas train yesterday, and if he keeps pooping in the potty consistently, he’ll get another prize next Monday. After that, we’ll try for underpants at night. Wooohooo! My big boy is growing up! *sob!*

Previous Post
Leave a comment

4 Comments

  1. A

     /  August 19, 2008

    Hooray for poop and pee and chapters!!!!!

    Reply
  2. BetsyD

     /  August 20, 2008

    It took me a year to write my first chapter, too. And about 3-4 months for each succeeding chapter.

    Reply
  3. lisa

     /  August 20, 2008

    I’m doing the potty dance in celebration!

    Reply
  4. Yvonne

     /  August 21, 2008

    Took me about five years of writing to come up with a 500-plus page novel then another year to cut 150 pages from it.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

