Potty over here! Potty over there! Haaay!


So, on top of still scurrying to get our house ready to put on the market so that we can go back to the sellers of the house we’ve probably already lost out on, plus hurriedly drafting the first version of my fall syllabus and every other ball I/we have up in the air, we decided to go ahead and start potty training this weekend. We put away the diapers (I can’t stand the thought of throwing away perfectly good diapers that are also expensive) and told Harry that because he’s a big boy and starting big boy school this week (on Friday! which is also his third birthday!), he needs to start wearing his big boy pants.

He was pretty chilled about it, and in fact was very excited to be wearing his Thomas undies most of the day. Maybe it’s because we put a diaper on him for naptime and a Pull-Up for errand-running (I wasn’t going to do Pull-Ups because I’d heard that they actually hindered potty training, rather than helped them, but I didn’t want to be stuck at Whole Foods with sopping-wet Thomas undies and a confused child), but he only had one accident today! And it was while he was playing outside! SCORE! It could also be because Matt and I asked him every 7.2 minutes if he needed to go pee-pee. (And, actually, the accident happened on my watch because I was absorbed in writing my syllabus and sort of forgot to be on top of the pee-pee reminders.)

Tomorrow he’ll go to daycare with Pull-Ups for naptime, some spare undies, and a change of clothes. Mommy will be keeping her fingers crossed for a good day, and I really hope that come Friday, we’ll have made some progress. I’ll confess that I’m a wee bit embarrassed that Harry is turning three and starting preschool this week and we’ve not yet p-trained him, even though my head knows that every child is different and learns at his/her own pace.

In other news, once the dude is asleep tonight, I’ll be snuggling up with the pint of this that mysteriously ended up in my basket at Whole Foods, lactose intolerance be damned.

Previous Post
Leave a comment

2 Comments

  1. Have I told you about my commitment to curing lactose intolerance? I promise that if I win the lottery, I will start a foundation. Every year we will hold a big gala fundraiser, and it will be called the Cheese Ball.

    Reply
  2. Sally

     /  July 28, 2008

    Hey–have you tried that “Nada Moo” ice cream? It’s made with coconut milk, so presumably would work for your tummy. Good stuff.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

