Straw Poll


I’m slowly working on a “what I’ve been up to” post, which might even publish this week, but in the meantime, I have a more pressing concern. I need to make room in my closet, as we’re undergoing a MAY-JUH decluttering effort over here. My wedding dress takes up an enormous amount of space in the closet, and I feel like I’m at a crossroads with this garment. Should I:

1) Sell it on Craigslist supah cheap and be done with it? [CON: what if I regret getting rid of it?]

2) Clean and preserve it for future generations? [CON: Not that much of a decluttering move; also, expensive]

3) Turn some piece of it into a keepsake? [CON: Having to keep up with/keep CLEAN an ivory satin keepsake]

Thoughts?

Previous Post
Leave a comment

4 Comments

  1. BetsyD

     /  July 14, 2008

    There was a secondhand wedding dress shop in Boston that had loads of gowns. I kind of like the idea of passing on your gorgeous dress, but if Baby 2 is a girl perhaps you’d like to keep it for her if she wants it?

    I just got rid of a whole bunch of clothes, which was pretty scary for a packrat like me, but also kind of liberating. (My closet has about twenty items in it now.)

    Oh, and my phone is not working, as soon as it is I’ll give a call doll!

    Reply
  2. Let me know what you find out about donation. I’d love to get rid of mine.

    Is there something in the water? I’m decluttering too. Listening to the audiobook of “It’s All Too Much” by Peter Walsh.

    Reply
  3. auntie ruf

     /  July 15, 2008

    I am a major softie packrat ‘but what if I…?’ save every little thing person, so perhaps this will help: I sold mine to a wedding consignment shop a few months after our shindig and have never looked back. It was great to have the cash, and great to have the space.

    As for the if-you-have-a-daughter-what-about-her question, my mom offered me hers and it was a) probably too small and b) not my style. So if you do pass it along now, you may save a future kid from potential awkwardness. I wonder how many women really do wear their mothers’ dresses for their own weddings. I don’t know any personally, but I do know a whole handful who had to discuss and debate and then ended up with “their own” dress, which they then had to discuss and debate saving for future generations.

    If you have a hankie or some other little thing that you carried/wore/used for your happy day, that can do the trick nicely as a something old/family touch.

    Reply
  4. lisa

     /  July 15, 2008

    I kept mine, but am not sure why. Those sort of things are normally outdated by the time your kids can enjoy them and then when would I ever need it again?

    Reply

Leave a Reply

