Dissertating for fun and profit


So, I’m sat at a favorite coffee shop that has a really yummy bagel sandwich (hummus, fresh veggies, chips and salsa on the side) and a vegan carrot cake that I want to marry and I’m making a little progress on my current chapter. I feel this horrible pressure to whip it into shape now, since I submit these pages to my dissertation group on Monday; we’ll meet next Friday for them to shred it. I just don’t want to look like an idiot in front of my peers and my diss co-chair, ya know? Suddenly I’m reliving the days of seminar-paper crunches, when we had three 20+page papers due within a one-week timeframe. Eeek! Except I feel like the stakes are higher with the dissertation chapter, obv. And I’m not even going on the market this year!

I’ve obviously got to do some carrot-and-sticking here. L and I are planning to see a matinee of Baby Mama tomorrow afternoon. So, I’ve got to get 4-5 more pages out of myself between now and then in order to make that happen. Okay, maybe three. Yeah, three.

And now I’m going to say something really politically incorrect: West Virginia? Not so interested in what brown can do for you, eh? Way to bust stereotypes, folks.

Previous Post
Leave a comment

2 Comments

  1. lisa

     /  May 14, 2008

    Wait. Where did the profit come in? I’m so jealous you have time to get in a movie… and I’m not even going to school!

    Reply
  2. gimpy

     /  May 15, 2008

    Politically incorrect? Yeah.

    Funny? Yeah.

    True? Yeah, sadly.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

