Vegan for a day (or maybe 2/3 of one)


Wow — I always thought that being vegan would be a boring pain in the ass, but if I can eat every day the way I’ve eaten today, I don’t think I’d ever be bored or inconvenienced.

For breakfast, I had organic apple-cinnamon oatmeal, half a grapefruit (sprinkled with a little bit of white sugar, so maybe not entirely vegan), and coffee with almond milk and Splenda. Then, at 10:30, when I decided to bag going to the coffeeshop in favor of working from home (always a bad choice), I ate a pear apple strudel Clif bar (which I shouldn’t have, but it happened, I’m acknowledging and moving on; also, the iced gingerbread flavor is way better).

Jillian came and picked me up for lunch at Mother’s, where I had the garden salad with cashew tamari dressing (O.M.G. Why has it taken me so long to discover this wondrousness?) and Santa Fe vegetable soup with some sort of vegan bread. Chips and salsa and water on the side. For dessert we split a slice of Belgian Mocha Fudge cake (also vegan). Holy wow. That was some good eating — this meal in particular may change my work habits over the spring semester. I might be writing my dissertation at Quack’s or Flightpath instead of Spider House on Tuesdays and Thursdays, simply due to their proximity to Mother’s.

There’s no telling how dinner will play out, but really? It doesn’t matter, because I’ve discovered that vegan doesn’t have to mean wheat roast (blargh) and tofurella.

Previous Post
Leave a comment

3 Comments

  1. Montana Mike

     /  January 6, 2008

    Did you hear the story on NPR this morning about the punk-Vegans? Really interesting. Their cookbook looks intriguing.

    –mm

    Reply
  2. dawn

     /  January 12, 2008

    I second that. The Vegan with a Vengance cookbook seems like something you would really dig. (lots of baking recipes too)

    Reply

Leave a Reply

