A non-dairy treat and that soup recipe I promised


I had the good fortune to sample these while at Costco on Saturday (the cranberry almond flavor), and snapped them up immediately. Apparently, they come and go, so I may need to sneak back over there and stock up. Only 2 POINTS per pack! Awesome!

I bought new running shoes I can’t afford today. I really, really needed them and they are quite comfy and I really, really need to start running again. I’ve never had Sauconys before, but if the price is any indication, I’ll be running alongside Katie and Lance in next year’s New York Marathon.

Here’s that soup recipe I promised last week before I got my panties in a twist about stone-age feminism:

Butternut squash and carrot soup
1.5 c. butternut squash, cubed
1 c. carrots, diced
2 tbsp. olive oil
1/4c. diced onion
1/4. celery
1 sprig thyme
1 quart vegetable or chicken broth

Heat olive oil over medium heat in 2-quart saucepan
Add onions and celery and saute gently until onions are translucent
Add squash, carrots, and thyme sprig and saute for another 2-3 minutes
Add the broth and increase heat. Bring soup just to a simmer and lower heat
Cover and continue to simmer soup gently until carrots are tender, approx. 25 minutes.
Remove soupd fromheat, discard thyme sprig. Taste and add salt and pepper if desired.
Garnish with fresh parsley and serve immediately.
Serves 4, 1.5 POINTS per serving.

Leave a comment

2 Comments

  1. Katie

     /  November 20, 2007

    Hey, I’m a runner too. Perhaps we could take a jog together sometime–it’s so much more fun w a friend. Good conversation distracts from the pain. ;^)
    Katie

    Reply
  2. Wonderful soup. I’ve made it twice this year, and this time with our own squash. Thanks!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

