So long, ice cream


So, for the past few weeks (right around the time we went to Seattle), I’ve been having some gastro distress (as usual). It started as bad stomach acid, then moved to a  more southerly region of the bod. Simply put, I’ve been miserable. I’ve tried fiber supplements, Chinese herbs, whining, smoothies, groaning, pouting, being depressed, and sulking. None of these has worked.

Of course, I’ve also scared myself into thinking I’ve got the Big C — ovarian or colon — but I’ve had both areas checked out (short of anything ending in -oscopy) and nothing has presented itself.

Things started to calm down at the end of last week, when I went back to Weight Watchers and also paid a visit to my acupuncturist. Saturday, I was very careful about everything I ate, leaning heavily toward veggies and fruit. I felt fine. When I got home from a meeting before having to head back out for grocery shopping, I had a Skinny Cow (the no sugar added kind), and not too much later, the Misery began. My stomach bloated up, and I left a vapor trail behind me at Central Market (sorry). Later, Matt and I went to see The Darjeeling Limited (love!) at the Alamo Drafthouse, where I had the chicken strips basket. I had both cream gravy and ranch dressing (klassy!) and the gas, it was horrible.

Conversely, I had no dairy yesterday and have had none today and am blissfully gas- and other things-free. I think I’ve found the culprit behind my misery. So, it’s back to soymilk and sorbet for me. Now what do I do with all of this expensive, organic, and highly delicious yogurt I just bought?

(Then again, I’ve also not had any carbonated beverages and have scaled back seriously on my caffeine consumption — what if dairy’s not the culprit? Damn. But the circumstantial evidence points to dairy. Shoot.)

Next Post
Leave a comment

5 Comments

  1. BetsyD

     /  November 5, 2007

    Actually white flour gives me the symptoms you describe; now that I (mostly) don’t eat wheat, the difference is amazing.

    Reply
  2. jodi

     /  November 5, 2007

    could it be the ‘whatever sweetener’ in the no-sugar-added? those usually have splenda or something, and that can make me gassy. also, fried things.

    is there actual dairy in cream gravy and ranch? I’ve always wondered…

    Reply
  3. boxingoctopus

     /  November 5, 2007

    The Skinny Cows are sweetened with Splenda, which I don’t have much of a problem with. I’ve been putting it in my coffee for the past couple of days with no untoward effects. Hmmm.

    And to the best of my knowledge, ranch dressing is made with sour cream and cream gravy is made with milk AND heavy cream AND butter! Blah.

    And Betsy, I was wondering what the effects of wheat are. My friend gave up wheat AND dairy and I can’t imagine a world without carbs AND ice cream. That’s just too depressing.

    Reply
  4. I’m pretty sensitive to lactose (can’t drink milk, ever) but have found that I can tolerate cheese and yogurt much better, especially if I limit them and don’t have too much on any given day. I think I read somewhere that the bacteria in cheese and yogurt make them more easily digestible for lactose-sensitive people.

    So, once you stabilize, you might try experimenting, adding small amounts of dairy back into your diet, but maybe trying only yogurt, or only cheese, and seeing how you do … just a suggestion.

    Good luck!

    Reply
  5. BetsyD

     /  November 6, 2007

    Giving up wheat and dairy is *really* hard, given our food culture. I try to avoid the former and limit the latter; definitely notice a difference on days when I eat neither.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

