Caprese quiche


This one came to me while driving home from work, wondering what the heck to make for dinner. I’ll add a picture later, as I’m crazy busy at the moment. Just imagine a quiche with a slightly overbaked crust and with gobs of fresh mozzarella oozing out of it and you’re there. It’s a really lovely summer-evening dish.

Caprese quiche

1 crust (I whipped up my own butter-based one)
2 eggs
1 egg yolk
1.5 cup heavy whipping cream
4 San Marzano tomatoes, seeded and sliced and patted dry
several slices of fresh mozzarella
shredded fresh basil
salt
pepper

Heat oven to 350. Blind bake your crust for 10 minutes, if necessary (I recommend it, especially if you’re using a frozen crust). Mix together your custard (cream, eggs, and spices). Layer the tomatoes, cheese, and basil into the crust. Pour in custard. Bake for 45 minutes or until goldeny brown and with an ever-so-tiny jiggle in the middle. Enjoy!

This is the first time I’ve added the extra egg yolk and I have to say that it definitely adds a bit of bounce and fluff to the custard. Will definitely add it to future quiches.

Previous Post
Leave a comment

1 Comment

  1. This sounds so tasty! I’m looking forward to seeing a picture!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 988 other followers

