Chocolate Pirate’s Booty


So, the other day I was browsing the Whole Story blog, looking for school-lunch ideas, when I came upon this post. Not only did the Naanwiches catch my eye, but so did the “exclusive to Whole Foods” Chocolate Pirate’s Booty. So, when I went to the Flagship store this afternoon to take advantage of the $4.99/pound tilapia sale, I went on the hunt for the Chocolate Booty (uh, that’s the last time I’ll call it that). While they had a pretty good sale on regular Pirate’s Booty (2/$7), there was no chocolate to be found. So, after scouring the store, I went to the customer service desk and asked about it. They had no idea what I was talking about.

So, those nice ladies called “DOWNSTAIRS” and talked to a guy who reported that he had one box of it that he had just opened and hadn’t even had a chance to sample. They also reported that he’d be happy to sample out a bag to me, so after I waited a few minutes, munching on grapefruit samples, I got a free bag of chocolate Pirate’s Booty! SCORE. “It’s weird, but good,” the dude reported.

Being me, I opened the bag in the car before I even got out of the parking garage. He was right, it was weird, but tasty. It has the same texture as other Booties (*snerk*), but the chocolate dusting (which is quite heavy in parts) is maybe more subtle than I expected. It’s a pleasant, very light chocolate fix and the weirdness wears off pretty quickly.

The kids also really liked it, and I think it’ll make for a nice afternoon snack or lunchbox treat every now and again.

Leave a comment

Leave a comment